Knoxville DUI Defense Lawyers
DUI Attorneys In Knox County, TN
Serving Knox County and the surrounding areas.
Have you been charged with a DUI in Knoxville or surrounding area? We can help – often times drunk driving cases are the result of mistakes made by the police officer or the State of Tennessee in prosecuting your case. These mistakes made on their behalf will provide opportunities for a positive outcome.
Our Knoxville DUI defense attorneys work tirelessly to uncover mistakes made in your arrest in which the State of Tennessee has failed to meet its burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt.
Don’t underestimate the impact a DUI conviction can have on your life. Besides losing your license, you may also have to pay thousands of dollars in fines, and you may even go to jail. Any mistakes made on law enforcements behalf can lead to opportunities to achieve a positive outcome.
Whether it’s your first offense or your third, DUI penalties can be damaging.
Along with penalties for refusing to take a breath test, you could face:
- Up to 6 years in jail
- Fines up to $15,000
- License suspension for a minimum of 1 year
- Mandatory interlock ignition device
Our DUI defense lawyers use proven strategies and tactics to fight these charges. While concrete evidence, such as chemical tests and your blood alcohol content (BAC), is a large part of such a conviction, it is possible for law enforcement to make mistakes. Among the possible errors are a violation of rights during the initial police stop, an incorrect administration of field sobriety tests, and errors during the arrest process. The breath testing unit may have been incorrectly calibrated, have a history of false readings, or have not been properly maintained. There could also be a possibility that your alcohol test was administered too late according to the law.
It is important to remember that simply because your test results displayed an illegal BAC, you cannot be automatically convicted.
What Are Tennessee’s Implied Consent Laws?
If you refuse to take a breath, blood, or urine test after being lawfully arrested for driving under the influence, you can be charged with implied consent violation. It is up to the officer to decide which type of test to administer, and more than one may be conducted. Because the issue in question is your BAC at the time of driving, the test(s) must be administered at the time of driving.
You must be informed by the police officer that chemical testing is a legal requirement after you are arrested. The failure to do so can be raised as a defense in your favor. Our Knoxville DUI defense attorneys are experienced attorneys who can carefully examine each aspect of the investigation and arrest, and aggressively attack every flaw or weakness in the prosecution’s case.
Almost all DUI charges have a small window of time in which you can take action. Do not delay in contacting a DUI defense lawyer for help – beating a DUI charge requires the counsel of an experienced DUI defense attorney.
Contact A Knoxville DUI Defense Attorney
Contact us today to talk with a DUI / drunk driving defense attorney in Knoxville, TN. No matter what your Tennessee criminal law matter entails, you can be rest assured that our Knoxville law firm has the knowledge and skill needed to represent you. We focus exclusively on criminal defense and family law and are prepared to provide the tailored representation and counsel that you need to get the best results possible. Contact us today to set up a consultation and case evaluation!